Shri Krishna as Kali

© 1975-2022 All rights reserved. None of this material may be
reproduced, apart from purely personal use, without the
express permission of the Webmaster

Web pages designed by Mike Magee.
Original artwork is © Jan Bailey, 1975-2022. Translations are ©
Mike Magee 1975-2022.

Shiva Shakti Mandalam Home Page

The God in the Tāntrik Tradition

Meditate that in the centre of the ocean of nectar there is a beautiful island. In the forest of aeon trees there is a beautiful canopy made of nine jewels. There, on a throne, on a triangular seat in the centre of a lotus is Lord Śiva, decorated with sun and moon and Devī Ambikā forming half of his body. – Kularṇava Tantra.

The male aspect of divinity takes a multitude of forms, whether it be as Viṣṇu, Mahādeva, Sūrya the Sun, Kṛṣna or Gaṇapati. In her/his form as Ardhanareśvara, both are united. The detail from the Balinese painting on the left shows Mahākala-Rahū swallowing the Moon goddess. (From the collection of Lokānāth Mahāraj)

Guru. The guru can be male or female, but she or he is the embodiment of Śiva-Śakti on earth. Visit this page to read of the significance of the teacher and translations from tantras relating to her or him.

Śrī Gaṇapati Deva. The elephant-headed god is the son o Śiva and Śakti but has tantras and a tradition all of his own.

Śṛī Mahādeva Śiva. Śiva is the witness, consciousness, vibration. He is the spouse and co-equal of Śakti in all of her forms and the lord of meditation. This page carries his daily puja or worship. Listen to the sound of Śiva’s ḍamaru, the hourglass drum giving birth and destroying the rythms of life. (190K .wav file) Here too, you can strive to understand Bhairava, with the translation of chapter 10 of the influential Netra Tantra. Also you can see the yantra of Mrityunjaya, Śiva as Conqueror of Death, together with a translation of the first chapter of his magical manual.

Śrī Śrī Kṛṣna. Some tantrik texts identified the Viṣnu avatar as the goddess herself. Playing his flute, Lord Kṛṣna dwells in the seventh heaven of Goloka.

The Navagrahas. The tradition considered each of its nine “planets” to be deities. As forms of consciousness, and each having its own proportion of bhūtas (elements), they circle sacred Mount Meru. Here you will find information about the planets as well as a ritual manual for Śani (Saturn), sometimes identified with Mahākāla.

Artwork is © Jan Bailey, 1975-2022. Translations are © Mike Magee 1975-2022.Questions or comments to

Home Page